Henrico Democrats

Tuckahoe Magisterial District

Magisterial District Leadership Team

Lissa Brown 804.505.0757
Jon Hruska

Thomas Randolph Estate

Thomas Randolph Estate

What is Tuckahoe?

The Tuckahoe Magisterial District is one of the most unique districts in Henrico County. The name, “Tuckahoe,” comes from an Indian word for an edible plant root growing along the rivers along the East Coast. Indians would feed from this nutritional food source as they traveled from New Jersey all the way to Virginia. One of the most famous historical landmarks in Tuckahoe is the Thomas Randolph Estate built in the early 18th century. In the area now known as the River Road community, the Randolph estate was coveted by many for its beautifully ornate structure and boxwood gardens unique for that time period. The property was subsequently sold to a proprietor by the name of Richard Whichello, who turned the illustrious estate into a tavern well known for illegal gambling. “Local tradition portrays Whichello as a greedy entrepreneur who supplemented his income by engaging his patrons in rigged games of change. In 1850, a cattle drover murdered Whichello after he lost a large sum of money to him in a card game. “

Contemporary Tuckahoe has emerged into a truly multicultural and linguistically diverse community. Tuckahoe hosts restaurants featuring a variety of cuisines, specialty coffee houses, and more than a dozen fast food chains. Considered one of Richmond’s premier shopping centers at the time, Regency Square Mall opened in 1975. Regency hosted many famous tenants such as Miller & Rhoads, Thalhimers, Hecht Company and Macy’s. Still standing, Regency Square has stood the test of time despite openings of Short Pump Towne Center and Stony Point Fashion Park in 2003. The best part of living in the Tuckahoe Magisterial District is its central location which offers easy access to Interstates 64/295/95 and Route 288 which offers access to both Chesterfield and Goochland counties.

Come see what we have to offer in the Tuckahoe Magisterial District. Experience all you can!

The Tuckahoe district is comprised of the following precincts:

Byrd Crestview Derbyshire
Freeman Gayton Godwin
Lakewood Lauderdale Maybeury
Mooreland Pemberton Pinchbeck
Ridgefield Rollingwood Skipwith
Spottswood Tuckahoe Welborne
West End

(To see a map of the Magisterial District or a precinct, please click on the name.)

Elected Officials

Virginia General Assembly (2-year term 2017, 2019)

56th District – Peter F. Farrell – R (804) 698-1056
68th District – Manoli Loupassi – R (804) 698-1068
72nd District – Jimmie P. Massie, III – R (804) 698-1072
73rd District – John O’Bannon, III – R (804) 698-1073

Board of Supervisors (4-year term 2019, 2023) Patricia O’Bannon – R

School Board (4-year term 2019, 2023) Lisa Marshall