Henrico Democrats

Varina Magisterial District

Magisterial District Leadership Team

Lori Krenik 804.505.0757

What is Varina?

The history of the Varina Magisterial District is as important as it is vast.  In 1610, John Rolfe came to America and settled on what is now known as Varina Farm. When he arrived in Virginia, he began cultivating a type of tobacco that was a cross between Indian tobacco and Bermuda tobacco. The end result was a tobacco crop that was very similar to tobacco being grown in the Spanish Varinas. Rolfe named his tobacco plantation Varina, because of this similarity. It was there that he lived with his wife, Pocahontas  The Indian Massacre of 1622 ended the settlement of Henricus and a tiny village grew up on Rolfe’s Plantation called Varina or Henrico Parish. Varina was the first County seat of Henrico and the first courthouse was built there. Originally the name Varina denoted an area of some 18 by 25 miles in measurement. Later, when this area became known simply as Henrico, Varina usually referred to the farm.

In 2014, the Varina District prides itself on maintaining its agricultural beauty.  However, it is growing and developing like all districts in Henrico.  The Shops at White Oak Village is a shopping and dining destination that is conveniently located right off I-64 on Laburnum Avenue.  Varina is also home to the Richmond International Airport that is just outside the village of Sandston.  Because the majority of Varina still maintains its  rural setting, residents cherish the outdoor activities and natural beauty of the district, including the James River, Dorey Park, Deep Bottom Park, and Four Mile Creek Park.  Varina will soon be part of the Virginia Capital Trail along the historic and scenic Route 5 that will provide a path from the City of Richmond to Williamsburg for bicyclists and pedestrians.  History buffs can also find many historical markers to stop and read, along with a visit to Fort Harrison National Battlefield.   Varina prides itself in maintaining its rural setting, while welcoming smart development and growth.  Varina:  Shop, dine, bike, run, learn, and relax!

The Varina district is comprised of the following precincts:

Antioch Cedar Fork Chicahominy
Donahoe Dorey Eanes
Elko Highland Springs Laburnum
Mehfoud Montrose Nine Mile
Pleasants Rolfe Sandston
Sullivans Town Hall Whitlocks

(To see a map of the Magisterial District or a precinct, please click on the name.)

Elected Officials

Virginia General Assembly (2-year term 2017, 2019)

62nd District – Riley Ingram – R (804) 698-1062
70th District – Delores McQuinn – D (804) 698-1070
74th District – Lamont Bagby – D  (804) 698-1074

Board of Supervisors (4-year term 2019, 2023) Tyrone Nelson – D

School Board (4-year term 2019, 2023) John W. Montgomery