2012 Battle for the Blue

On Sunday, April 29th 2012, the Henrico County Democratic Committee hosted its 7th Annual Signature Dinner & Silent Auction, Battle for the Blue at the Crossroads Art Center. We had a great turnout and everyone agreed that it was a very successful event.

Our evening began with a social hour during which we listened to The John Winntet and bid on a wide range of silent auction items. We were proud to be joined by Senator Mark Warner. Congressman Bobby Scott served as our Master of Ceremonies and did a wonderful job of emceeing and introducing our other dignitaries and elected officials in attendance – David Mill, Executive Director of the Democratic Party of Virginia (DPVA), Senator Donald McEachin, Delegate Jennifer McClellan who brought us a message from Governor Tim Kaine, Delegate Delores McQuinn, Delegate Joe Morrissey, Supervisor Frank Thornton, Supervisor Tyrone Nelson, Commonwealth’s Attorney Shannon Taylor and School Board Member, John Montgomery. We also heard from Wayne Powell, Candidate for the 7th District.

Our Keynote Speaker was Aneesh Chopra, former United States Chief Technology Officer under President Obama and Virginia’s Secretary of Technology under Governor Kaine who spoke on “Winning the Future through Open Innovation.” The evening ended with the “not so silent” silent auction with John Montgomery acting as auctioneer. Thank you to all those who participated and donated to the silent auction.

A special thanks to our amazing fundraising committee, event sponsors, elected officials, our Master of Ceremonies, Congressman Bobby Scott, and of course, our Keynote Speaker, Aneesh Chopra.

As a Committee, we are committed to battle for the blue in Henrico! We look forward to another superb event next year – we hope you’ll join us!

Battle for the Blue Event Sponsors

American Blue
● Delegate Jennifer McClellan
● IBEW Local 666

Virginia Blue
● Congressman Bobby Scott
● Delegate Delores McQuinn
● Delegate Joe Morrissey
● Supervisor Frank Thornton
● Virginia AFL-CIO
● Tom and Carol Herbert
● David & Pamela Kovacs

Henrico Blue
● Senator Donald McEachin
● Commonwealth’s Attorney Shannon Taylor
● Supervisor Tyrone Nelson
● Gene and Barbara Anderson
● Bedros Bandazian
● Craig & Christie Bieber
● John and Peggy Borgard
● Robin Crane
● Cynthia Merrill
● Cheryl Zando

We the People
● Mark and Debbie Brumitt
● Jean Crown
● James Farkas
● Ophelia Gilliam
● Carolyn Singleton Hamlin
● Pat Hudson
● Julie Laskaris
● Edward Lynch
● Joycelene Rowsey
● Dorothy Tatem
● Gina Venn
● Louise Whitehead
● Jo Whitehurst

Battle for the Blue Fundraising Planning Committee
• Julie Laskaris, Fundraising Event Chair
• Deborah Brumitt
• Keyanna Conner
• Alice Creighton
• Jean Crown
• Dreamel Henry
• Carolyn Jacobs
• Walter Johnson
• Alfreda Massenburg
• Gina Venn
• Cathy Woodson


20120429pic01_288x192 20120429pic02_288x192
20120429pic03_288x192 20120429pic04_288x192
20120429pic05_288x192 20120429pic06_288x192
20120429pic07_288x192 20120429pic08_288x192
20120429pic09_288x192 20120429pic10_288x192
20120429pic11_288x192 20120429pic12_288x192
20120429pic13_288x192 20120429pic14_288x192
20120429pic15_288x192 20120429pic16_288x192
20120429pic17_288x192 20120429pic18_288x192